Jason Chan, Singer

Can your dreams really become reality?

Learn more about his financial planning strategy.


Other Videos

play-button
Jason Chan, Singer

Can your dreams really become reality?

Learn more about his financial planning strategy.

Case Studies

The stories of the dream-chaser reveal ordinary people’s not-so-ordinary financial planning insights.

Freelancer

How can freelancers find financial stability?


Michelle,aged 27

Working freelance without any permanent position, Michelle is a photographer, graphic designer and handicraft class instructor. Sometimes, she will sell her collections online as well. Her goal is to move to Taiwan and open a store selling products of her own brand.

  • Read the story

    Enjoy the freedom of being a freelancer

    Michelle loves sharing her works like photos, hand-made accessories and paintings with friends ever since she was a secondary student. After joining the workforce for three years, she became a freelancer who sells her collections online, takes up design projects for friends, art galleries and design houses and teaches handicraft workshops. Though not stable, her income is more than enough to support her daily living. She even has an accumulated savings.

    Limited opportunities for creative artists

    To Michelle, opportunities for creative artists are rather limited in Hong Kong. That’s why she plans to move to Taiwan where she can set up a store selling products of her own brand and exchange her ideas with other fellow artists. In order to realize her goal, there are a number of things that Michelle needs to consider. Firstly, she hopes to support her parents financially after her parents retire in 10 years. Secondly, she needs around HK$400,000 as initial capital for her venture immigrant application in Taiwan. Michelle feels pressured as she doesn’t have any idea on how to calculate the amount she needs and how to save.


    Flexibility, rather than stability offered by a 9 to 6 job, is what freelancer looking for. Therefore, their financial plans would need to be adjusted accordingly. First of all, Michelle needs to set aside some money for emergencies that equals to say her general expenditure for three months, i.e. around HK$45,000 with her financial ability. In a low-interest environment, instead of depositing money in savings account, Michelle will consider using other ways to save so as to realize her immigration and venture dream in Taiwan and achieve her goal of looking after her parent.


    Michelle wants to arrange a family trip shortly after her parent retires 10 years later as a token of thanks to their love and care over the years. With an aim to develop a brand of her own in the coming 5 to 8 years, more capital is needed for operation. Her monthly surplus is, therefore, put into some saving insurance plans. It is hoped that by the time a family trip for her parents’ retirement can be arranged and her brand is launched, capital will become more adequate as she doesn’t need to contribute anymore. The fact that freelancers are not covered by group medical plan means that Michelle would need to invest some money each month in hospitalization and critical illness protection before starting any savings plan.


    Freelancers love freedom, yet they do have responsibilities. Michelle will be able to realize her dreams and enjoy more autonomy in the future as soon as all her financial needs mentioned above are dealt with.


    Special thanks to the case study provider: Alvin Lam, Certified Money Coach (CMC)®
















    The information above is for general reference only. It shall not constitute nor shall it be taken as a substitute for the professional advice from an insurance advisor on the purchase of insurance policies. No aspect of this website shall be solely relied upon for the decision of insurance purchase. You should seek relevant professional advice before taking action on any matters to which information provided on this website may be relevant. For more details, please contact your Manulife insurance advisor or call our customer service hotline on (852) 2510 3383 (if you are in Hong Kong) or (853) 8398 0383 (if you are in Macau).


Going back to school

Can I just quit and pursue further studies?


Mike,aged 29

Consider quitting his job to go for an MBA

  • Read the story

    Thinking of quitting and pursuing further for career advancement

    Mike joined a local construction engineering firm as a management trainee 3 years ago. He is one of the few being cultivated with special training as the company faces the problem of employee aging. His career looks promising if only he is able to keep up. As years go by, Mike wants to quit and study further for career advancement. He expects to spend HK$700,000 to finish a full-time MBA course in a high-ranking university within a year and a half and take up a key role in a multinational conglomerate.


    Mike’s plan involves risk. Whether he can achieve his goal as expected is difficult to predict. On top of losing stable income in the coming 18 months, he will need to spend some HK$700,000 on tuition. All the savings and wealth accumulation initiatives including his plan to get married will need to be postponed as a result of his decision to quit. As this is a costly decision, he needs to feel confident that he can really earn more in the future.

    Is quitting the only option?

    After serious consideration, Mike understands that he needs a stable job to realize his savings goal as well as his plan to get married in 5 years. Knowing that quitting his job to further study will add uncertainty to his financial planning in the coming five years, he started to think about how he can make use of existing and future resources to generate better gain and fulfil his aspiration.


    Mike can stay in his current position for a while to learn more and gain as much management experience as possible before considering quitting and studying. He can prioritize his goals and consider to allocate his assets into the following 3 portions: i) a reserve for setting up his new family 5 years later; ii) an education fund to enable career advancement in the future; and iii) a reserve for long-term family planning to cover the following expenses: child rearing say 3 years after getting married, education expenses for his future son/daughter and his own retirement fund.


    With reference to the amount he is saving each month at the moment, the total amount he will be able to save in 5 years (excluding gains) and should be more than enough to pay for his new family. After putting aside funds for emergency which equals to his living expenses for 6 months with his financial ability, cash accumulated can be invested for a longer period of time for better return with compound interests. He may consider asset allocation tools providing stable return and flexibility in deciding whether to withdraw the amount by stages or leave on deposit to earn interest. Risk management is important as he will soon be entering into a new stage of life. Suitable and adequate life and health coverage and protection against critical illnesses and accidents are indispensable.


    Special thanks to the case study provider: Alvin Lam, Certified Money Coach (CMC)®
















    The information above is for general reference only. It shall not constitute nor shall it be taken as a substitute for the professional advice from an insurance advisor on the purchase of insurance policies. No aspect of this website shall be solely relied upon for the decision of insurance purchase. You should seek relevant professional advice before taking action on any matters to which information provided on this website may be relevant. For more details, please contact your Manulife insurance advisor or call our customer service hotline on (852) 2510 3383 (if you are in Hong Kong) or (853) 8398 0383 (if you are in Macau).


Dreams come true

Turning hobby into a career


Marcus, aged 30

Left a telecommunication firm where he worked as an assistant manager last year to achieve his dream of becoming a dance instructor.

  • Read the story

    Passion for Dancing

    Marcus has been a fan of dance and music and a lover of freedom. He hates being confined in the office from 9 in the morning to 9 at night without private life. Despite the fact of having a good income, he decided to quit and engage in something else that he really likes before it is too late. He became a dancer/choreographer who teaches dancing classes and takes up choreography assignments at a rented studio to make money and at the same time pursue his dreams. He expects to set up a dancing school in the long run.


    Being a full-time dancer and instructor now, Marcus hopes to support his daily living with quite a large number of pupils and performance opportunities referred by his friends and fellow dancing buddies. If Marcus only teaches as a full time dance instructor, he’s concerned that he won’t have enough monthly surpluses for savings.


    Fortunately, he is able to widen his income source with other freelance jobs like translation assignments and private tutoring sessions since he has a Master’s degree in Translation. This allows him to better manage his wealth and cash flow and get prepared to open a dancing school later on until his pupil pool is big enough.

    A short-lived career

    Marcus earns from his dancing classes and freelance jobs so he has extra money for a savings plan requiring regular contribution. Taking physical condition into consideration, Marcus predicts that he will not have a career as a dancing instructor beyond 50+ years old. By that time, he would need to set up a dancing school and hire other instructors to teach or offer classes jointly with his pupils. Of course, it would be an ideal scenario if he can teach less and earn more as he become more reputable. In any event, his passive income would need to be increased 20 years later for greater stability. Products providing stable income are what he needs. It can be an annuity plan giving out stable or guaranteed payment or insurance plan coverage till aged 100 with options of either cashing in guaranteed payment or leaving it on deposit to earn interest. In view of the increased risk of sustaining injuries because of his job nature, Marcus should also have accident and health protection in place while he is young.


    Marcus can now pursue his dreams in the coming 5 years. If he is able to establish his own dancing school by then and increase his passive income, his future can be more secured. Even if he decided to give up his dancing career, he can always switch back to a profession in either translation or education.


    Special thanks to the case study provider: Alvin Lam, Certified Money Coach (CMC)®
















    The information above is for general reference only. It shall not constitute nor shall it be taken as a substitute for the professional advice from an insurance advisor on the purchase of insurance policies. No aspect of this website shall be solely relied upon for the decision of insurance purchase. You should seek relevant professional advice before taking action on any matters to which information provided on this website may be relevant. For more details, please contact your Manulife insurance advisor or call our customer service hotline on (852) 2510 3383 (if you are in Hong Kong) or (853) 8398 0383 (if you are in Macau).


Life Protection Calculator

Life can be unpredictable. How much protection do you need?


Do the math now

Target Saving Calculator

How long will it take to reach your savings target? How much do you need to put aside each month?


Do the math now

Manulife Financial Planning – The 3 Pillars

Start with the 3 pillars of financial planning. Once you have taken care of the future, you will have the peace of mind to live in the moment.

Build Your Wealth

Long-term planning for growing your wealth.

Protect Your Wealth

Expect the unexpected. Have a comprehensive backup plan, just in case.

Enjoy Your Wealth

Take an extra step to maintain the quality of life you want after your retirement.

Talk to the Experts

Contact our professional financial advisors for a comprehensive and personalized financial planning solution.

I have read and accepted Manulife's Privacy Policy and Terms Of Use including the use of my personal information provided above.

Thank you for contacting us. We will get back to you soon.

Talk to the experts on financial planning!

香港歌手 - 陳柏宇

追夢,真係得?

佢其實有晒理財規劃,你又知唔知?


其他短片

play-button
香港歌手 - 陳柏宇

追夢,真係得?

佢其實有晒理財規劃,你又知唔知?

生活案例

追夢故事,拆解小人物的理財大智慧

個案分析 - 自由工作者

自由工作者如何建立財務安全感?


Michelle,27歲

自由工作者 (無固定職業) - 接不同的Job:攝影、平面設計、手工藝導師、亦會把自己的手作放上網售賣。目標是移居台灣開設自家品牌精品店。

  • 閱讀更多

    投入自由工作者身份

    Michelle從中學階段開始,便喜歡將自己的作品與朋友分享,包括一些旅遊相片、自製首飾及繪畫等。工作三年後,她毅然選擇成為自由工作者,將自己的創作放上網售賣,亦為不少朋友、藝術教室、設計公司及藝術小店創作,以及開班授課。雖然沒有穩定的收入,但每月賺取的生活費足夠應付日常開支,亦可以有少許儲蓄。

    藝術創作發展空間有限

    話雖如此,Michelle始終覺得在香港發展藝術事業,前景有限,所以希望可以到台灣發展,開設自己品牌的精品店,與更多手作人相互交流。要實現這個目標,有幾方面要考慮,首先她希望將來有能力照顧10年後退休的雙親,另外申請台灣創業移民亦需要一筆資金,初步預算為40萬港元,這些問題令Michelle大為苦惱,不知如何開始儲蓄和計算需要。


    自由工作者所追求的,不是朝九晚六的穩定工作,而是較多的靈活性及可能性。為了達到這些目標,便需要在財政安排上作適當的配合,所以Michelle的理財需要,首先是保存一筆合理金額,作為應急資金,按她的經濟能力,例如等同3個月的日常支出,即4.5萬港元;由於銀行存款利率不高,所以Michelle正考慮以其他的儲蓄計劃去實現台灣創業移民的夢想及未來照顧家人的目標。


    Michelle希望安排一次免費旅行給10年後退休的父母,以感謝他們的養育之恩,另外她計劃5至8年內可以創立自己的品牌,預計未來要較多資金周轉,可以考慮將現時的儲蓄及每月盈餘放在一些儲蓄保險計劃,期望能安排父母退休之旅及創立品牌後可以不用再繼續供款,令資金靈活性增加。由於自由工作者沒有團體福利醫療保障,所以為未來計劃儲蓄前,Michelle撥出部份資金購買住院及危疾保障


    追求自由工作的人,都不希望受束縛,但Michelle亦明白這不代表沒有責任。當處理好以上財務需要後,未來就能更放心地發展和享受自主人生。


    鳴謝資料提供: 林昶恆, 美國認可理財教練 (CMC)®
















    以上個案只作一般參考用途,並不構成及不應被視作取代保險顧問有關購買保單的專業意見。您不應只根據本網頁刊載的資料購買保單。 如就涉及本網站所提供的訊息或相關事宜採取行動,應先尋求相關的專業意見。如欲了解詳情,歡迎與您的宏利保險顧問聯絡,或致電 客戶服務熱線 (852) 2510 3383 (如閣下身處於香港)及 (853) 8398 0383 (如閣下身處於澳門)。


個案分析 - 離職進修

離職進修真係得?


Mike,29歲

考慮離職修讀MBA (裸辭)

  • 閱讀更多

    為更好的事業發展考慮離職進修

    Mike 3年前加入一間本地建築工程公司,擔任管理見習生。公司正面對員工老化的問題,所以Mike是公司重點培訓員工之一,只要能夠繼續努力,未來應該發展不俗。但工作幾年後,他希望充實自己,提升事業發展潛力,於是考慮離職進修。他預算花費近70萬港元及一年半時間,在香港全職進修一個世界排名高的MBA課程,期望完成碩士課程後,能夠加入跨國大公司擔任要職。


    但破斧沈舟,風險不少。Mike若離職進修,能否達到期望的效益,是難以預計的。相反,裸辭後肯定有一年半時間失去穩定的收入,進修還要花70萬港元,加上有計劃與女朋友結婚,這個決定將會拖慢未來儲蓄和資產增值的效果,除非將來能夠得到更高入息,否則可能得不償失。

    裸辭進修是唯一出路?

    Mike經過認真思考後,確認自己需要一份穩定的工作以進行儲蓄計劃,以及未來5年組織自己的家庭,離職與進修反而會影響未來5年人生規劃的確定性。他想清楚以後,便開始考慮如何運用現有及未來的資源,創造更多收益,實現期望中的生活。


    Mike可以利用眼前的機會從工作中學習,累積更多管理和人生經驗後,再考慮是否要裸辭進修。他可以按主次目標及現時的資產考慮以下3項計劃,分別是i)5年後需要組織家庭的支出;ii)為更好事業發展所儲備的進修基金;以及iii)長遠的家庭規劃包括計劃婚後3年內生育一名孩子和為他/她的將來儲蓄教育基金等,以至未來退休所需要的資金。


    根據現時每月儲蓄,預計滾存5年後,存款相信足以應付將來組織家庭的大部份支出。已累積的現金,按他的經濟能力,扣除等同6個月日常支出的需要之後,可以投放更長時間,配合複息效應,創造長線更理想收益。理財工具上,可以考慮平穩回報及具備靈活性,能夠選擇分段提取或積存生息資產配置工具。


    當然,Mike正邁入另一人生階段,所以為自己及家人都要做好風險管理,確保有適當及足夠的危疾、意外、人壽及醫療保障。


    鳴謝資料提供: 林昶恆, 美國認可理財教練 (CMC)®
















    以上個案只作一般參考用途,並不構成及不應被視作取代保險顧問有關購買保單的專業意見。您不應只根據本網頁刊載的資料購買保單。 如就涉及本網站所提供的訊息或相關事宜採取行動,應先尋求相關的專業意見。如欲了解詳情,歡迎與您的宏利保險顧問聯絡,或致電 客戶服務熱線 (852) 2510 3383 (如閣下身處於香港)及 (853) 8398 0383 (如閣下身處於澳門)。


個案分析 - 表演夢

化興趣為事業,追逐表演夢?


Marcus,30歲

原為電訊公司助理經理,去年辭職教舞,為圓跳舞夢

  • 閱讀更多

    追尋舞蹈夢

    Marcus熱衷跳舞和愛聽音樂,享受自由奔放的感覺,相反寫字樓工作刻板,每天朝九晚九,完全沒有私人時間。雖然當時收入不錯,但自覺應趁年青,多做一些自己喜歡的事,因此決定放棄工作投入舞者生活,租用別人的舞蹈室,用來教舞、編舞和排舞,接不同的舞台表演,一方面賺取收入,另一方面滿足自己的最大興趣,長遠計劃開辦舞蹈學校。


    由於本身認識不少喜歡跳舞的朋友,全職教舞後,不少好友均行動上支持他,轉介子女和朋友來學跳舞,加上參與了不少舞蹈演出,因此收入總算能應付日常開支,只是沒有盈餘作儲蓄,亦難以為未來規劃。現時雖全職在音樂和舞蹈方面發展,但收入只是剛好應付生活需要。


    幸而時間較為靈活,所以Marcus有餘裕創造更多入息,例如他擁有翻譯碩士學位,可以接一些外判翻譯工作和從事私人補習。當有足夠及固定的學生,才考慮開辦舞蹈學校,這樣便可健康地管理財富及現金流。

    舞蹈生涯短暫?

    Marcus教授舞蹈加上翻譯工作及私人補習,可以每月有盈餘,投放在定期供款計劃中。Marcus考慮到身體狀況,未必能夠長期以教授舞蹈為終身職業,估計到大概50多歲後,便需要改變工作模式,長遠則考慮開辦跳舞學校,聘請其他人教跳舞,亦可與學生合作提供舞蹈課程,最理想是因知名度提升而可提高收費及減少教舞時間。無論如何,20多年後需要的是增加被動入息,令生活更安定。 一些能夠提供穩定收入的產品,正合他的需要,例如可以穩定派發收益的年金類產品,或可靈活選擇積存生息或提取收益至100歲保險方案。除此之外,Marcus應了解到長期跳舞容易增加受傷機會,應趁現在安排好適當的意外及醫療保障。


    現時Marcus可以給自己5年時間去追夢,到時有機會開辦跳舞學校便可增加更多被動入息,保障更長遠的生活。如果到時不想繼續舞蹈事業,Marcus亦可重投翻譯和教育工作。


    鳴謝資料提供: 林昶恆, 美國認可理財教練 (CMC)®
















    以上個案只作一般參考用途,並不構成及不應被視作取代保險顧問有關購買保單的專業意見。您不應只根據本網頁刊載的資料購買保單。 如就涉及本網站所提供的訊息或相關事宜採取行動,應先尋求相關的專業意見。如欲了解詳情,歡迎與您的宏利保險顧問聯絡,或致電 客戶服務熱線 (852) 2510 3383 (如閣下身處於香港)及 (853) 8398 0383 (如閣下身處於澳門)。


人壽保障金額計算機

人生無常,需要幾多保障?


立即計計

儲蓄目標計算機

要達到儲蓄目標,需要多久?每月需儲多少?


立即計計

「宏利理財規劃」三大範疇

從三大支柱入手,全方位鞏固未來,自然可放心投資於現在。

累積財富

長線規劃,為財富增值

保障財富

以策萬全,應付人生無常

策劃退休入息

走多一步,維持理想的生活質素

及早問專家

想了解更多規劃方案?立即提供以下資料,我們的理財顧問會儘快與您聯絡。

本人已閱畢及接受 私隠政策 使用條款 細則,包括提供的個人資料之使用。

謝謝您與我們聯絡!我們的理財顧問會儘快回覆。

想了解更多理財規劃方案,及早問專家!