Jess & Kalvin, Bakery Owners

Can you really start your own business?

Learn more about their financial planning strategy.


Other Videos

play-button
Jess & Kalvin, Bakery Owners

Can you really start your own business?

Learn more about their financial planning strategy.

Case Studies

The stories of the business owner reveal ordinary people’s not-so-ordinary financial planning insights.

Online shop owner

Online shops: easy to start but difficult to keep?


Monica, online shop owner, 28 years old
Monica is a full-time office manager who recently started her online Korean fashion store, and needs to cope with a shortage of manpower and logistics costs.

  • Read the story

    Opportunities Arising from the Ecommerce Trend

    The increasing popularity of online shopping and relatively low startup costs have attracted many young people to open their own online stores. Hoping to jump on the bandwagon, Monica decided to join other young entrepreneurs and sell Korean fashion products. However, apart from the fierce competition, as a new boss, she has struggled with the lack of manpower and experience in handling orders and delivery.


    Recently, Monica chose to partner with other like-minded online-shop owners so they can cross- sell each other’s products. Operating like a chain shop, they can offer more styles and product categories, which will then lower the operating costs and ensure easier control.

    How to Start a Business?

    Monica understands that she needs to be patient in the early stages, and the sales will grow naturally when her store becomes more popular. Since there are no definite business hours, she can work as an office manager at the same time, and support her business with a stable income.


    It is important to consider risk management carefully when starting a business, which includes determining the investment amount and setting an observation period that will help prevent a long-term loss. The enormous pressure of managing her job and the online store makes Monica realise the importance of a comprehensive health protection. Should she suffer any health problems, her career will be compromised, and she will need sufficient medical coverage.


    While we cannot guarantee the success of a start-up, we should always prepare for a rainy day. If the business volume is not up to Monica’s expectation after five years, or she wants to quit and try something new, she will needs additional capital. If business is good and she wants to expand it further, she will also need to step up her investment. Now, Monica may allocate part of her income to a regular savings plan that will allow her to withdraw the account value after several years. As there is no urgent need to draw out this fund over the next few years, and given that she has previous investment experience, her risk tolerance level is medium to high based on her asset value, investment experience and age. Therefore, she may consider some relatively aggressive financial vehicles, and minimise the risk of one-off buying through dollar cost averaging.


    Special thanks to the case study provider: Alvin Lam, Certified Money Coach (CMC)®
















    The information above is for general reference only. It shall not constitute nor shall it be taken as a substitute for the professional advice from an insurance advisor on the purchase of insurance policies. No aspect of this website shall be solely relied upon for the decision of insurance purchase. You should seek relevant professional advice before taking action on any matters to which information provided on this website may be relevant. For more details, please contact your Manulife insurance advisor or call our customer service hotline on (852) 2510 3383 (if you are in Hong Kong) or (853) 8398 0383 (if you are in Macau).


Small shop owner

Is it hard to be a small shop owner?


Matt, 30 years old
Planning to open a bubble tea house with friends

  • Read the story

    Opportunities presented by the bubble tea frenzy

    When he studied in Taiwan years ago, Matt anticipated high potential of bubble tea market in Hong Kong and wanted to open a shop . After graduating from university, he worked hard to save money. Now, with the financial support from his family, he has HK$1 million in hand and is ready to start his own business. The estimated total investment amount will be HK$1.5 million, and with a total of three shareholders, Matt will need to put in HK$500,000.


    With numerous Taiwan-style takeaway tea houses in Hong Kong, Matt knows his new venture has to be really special in order to stand out. He, therefore, considers partnering with friends to expand the offerings. Apart from drinks and snacks, he plans to allocate some space for different activities, such as internet-surfing, playing board games and VR video games. While promotional offers and a membership programme will help attract customers and bring sustainable growth, he also wants to expand the source of income by cross-selling products of other suppliers.

    Challenges of operating a physical store

    As rent and labour cost are the two main expenditures of running a physical store, Matt has to get the costs right and develop a project timeline, say two years. If his start-up is a success within this period, he may keep growing it; if not, he will have to change his plan or even get a job.


    Given the low success rate of startups in Hong Kong, he needs to have a backup plan. If his business fails, he may have to find a full-time job. Therefore, based on his personal financial conditions, he will need an emergency fund that can sustain his normal living expenses for six months. Besides, as his parents are going to retire in five years, and it is expected that Matt will need to allocate HK$5,000 per month to support his parents, he may consider taking out a life insurance plan to protect his family.


    Devoting himself to the bubble tea house, Matt has not started his retirement planning yet, and has chosen a life insurance plan with a savings feature. If his business can generate stable income in the future, he may cover his parents’ living expenses with such income, and partially fund his retirement life with the accumulated dividends (if any) of the plan. The young entrepreneur should also consider buying a health insurance plan to protect his family and himself, so that he can stay focused on his business ambition.


    Special thanks to the case study provider: Alvin Lam, Certified Money Coach (CMC)®
















    The information above is for general reference only. It shall not constitute nor shall it be taken as a substitute for the professional advice from an insurance advisor on the purchase of insurance policies. No aspect of this website shall be solely relied upon for the decision of insurance purchase. You should seek relevant professional advice before taking action on any matters to which information provided on this website may be relevant. For more details, please contact your Manulife insurance advisor or call our customer service hotline on (852) 2510 3383 (if you are in Hong Kong) or (853) 8398 0383 (if you are in Macau).


KOL

It only takes a few videos to become a KOL?


Moses, YouTuber, 34 years old
Married. His wife is a yoga tutor with a monthly income of over HK20,000.

  • Read the story

    Turning a hobby into a career

    A trained electrical engineer, Moses had worked as a full-time employee for eight years before he decided to be a YouTuber about 1.5 years ago. Today, he runs a vlogging (video + blog) channel about travel, photography, new gadgets and music, and has around 150,000 subscribers. In light of the relatively small Cantonese-speaking community, he plans to explore the Mainland and Taiwan markets, and has two employees responsible for business development. Moses spends more than 10 hours on creating YouTube content every day, but he enjoys every minute as it is what he loves to do.


    It is quite impressive to attract 150,000 subscribers in just 18 months. Yet many successful social media KOLs have millions of subscribers, and an insider revealed that YouTubers can only make HK$7,000 to HK$10,000 for a million views. Without passion, it will be difficult for them to carry on. Though Moses’s wife also has a job, their family income may not be adequate for all future plans. Luckily, Moses’s parents bought him a flat so the couple do not have to worry about housing. Still, they have to consider their basic expenses and future planning.

    Planning the career path as a YouTuber

    Moses understands that it takes time and discipline to achieve success. The new YouTuber spends over 10 hours on his channel every day, and may overlook other important life goals. He realises there is a gap between reality and dream, and he needs to explore new sources of income. Being knowledgeable about travel, photography, music and the latest trends, he wants to organise online hands-on workshops to earn more and share his passion.


    With a long way to go, Moses knows that he should plan well ahead for the future. As he is not in dire need of capital now, and doesn’t plan to have children yet, he is starting with a long-term savings plan. He set his first savings goal at the age of 50 and hopes to accumulate enough money for retirement by then. Besides, his demanding work makes him become health-conscious, and he wants to have medical, critical illness and life protection and savings,insurance plans to maintain their financial security. An emergency cash fund is also essential. The couple can set aside a fund equivalent to six months of the household expenses according to their needs and financial conditions. While they have to stay optimistic, entrepreneurs also need to manage risks well so that they can stride towards their goals with peace of mind.


    Special thanks to the case study provider: Alvin Lam, Certified Money Coach (CMC)®
















    The information above is for general reference only. It shall not constitute nor shall it be taken as a substitute for the professional advice from an insurance advisor on the purchase of insurance policies. No aspect of this website shall be solely relied upon for the decision of insurance purchase. You should seek relevant professional advice before taking action on any matters to which information provided on this website may be relevant. For more details, please contact your Manulife insurance advisor or call our customer service hotline on (852) 2510 3383 (if you are in Hong Kong) or (853) 8398 0383 (if you are in Macau).


Life Protection Calculator

Life can be unpredictable. How much protection do you need?


Do the math now

Target Saving Calculator

How long will it take to reach your savings target? How much do you need to put aside each month?


Do the math now

Manulife Financial Planning – The 3 Pillars

Start with the 3 pillars of financial planning. Once you have taken care of the future, you will have the peace of mind to live in the moment.

Build Your Wealth

Long-term planning for growing your wealth.

Protect Your Wealth

Expect the unexpected. Have a comprehensive backup plan, just in case.

Enjoy Your Wealth

Take an extra step to maintain the quality of life you want after your retirement.

Talk to the Experts

Contact our professional financial advisors for a comprehensive and personalized financial planning solution.

I have read and accepted Manulife's Privacy Policy and Terms Of Use including the use of my personal information provided above.

Thank you for contacting us. We will get back to you soon.

Talk to the experts on financial planning!

蛋糕店店主 - Jess & Kalvin

創業,真係得?

佢哋其實有晒理財規劃,你又知唔知?


其他短片

play-button
蛋糕店店主 - Jess & Kalvin

創業,真係得?

佢哋其實有晒理財規劃,你又知唔知?

生活案例

創業故事,拆解小人物的理財大智慧

個案分析 - 網店店主

網店開業容易守業難?


網店店主
Monica,28歲
全職辦公室管理人員,剛開設網店售賣韓式時裝,需要應付人手短缺及物流開支。

  • 閱讀更多

    網購熱潮帶動創業機會

    越來越多人透過網購消費,由於網店成本較低,不少年輕人會選擇開設網店,一嘗創業之路。Monica亦希望趕上這個潮流,並趁年輕吸收創業經驗,由於近年韓風盛行,Monica決定售賣韓式時裝。但網店競爭其實頗大,而且沒有固定人手,又要應付一些訂貨及送貨上的問題,自己又是新手,很多時會因欠缺經驗而變得手忙腳亂。


    Monica選擇與幾家志同道合的網店合作,各人同時銷售大家的貨品,像連鎖店般,這樣可增加貨品的款式和類別,成本亦變相減輕和更容易控制。

    創業初期要如何入手?

    Monica明白創業初期需要耐心一點,等網站漸漸多人認識,才能增加生意額。由於沒有營業時間的限制,她同時幹一份壓力不大的辦公室管理工作,以期透過穩定的收入,補貼創業支出。


    創業初期,需要認真考慮風險管理,包括計算清楚投資金額,以及訂定創業觀察期,否則有機會因長期虧蝕而令自己百上加斤。因經營壓力大,凡事勞心勞力,她明白全面醫療保障的重要性。萬一身體出現問題,不僅事業發展受影響,身體亦較容易出現疾病,所以要有足夠醫療保障。


    創業能否成功,很難保證,所以應有一份足夠的儲備,萬一5年後網店生意未如理想,或不想繼續經營,須重新考慮其他發展方向,便需要額外資金;若生意理想,考慮擴充業務,也需要投放更多資源。Monica現時可以每月定期儲蓄形式,將部份收入存放在一份在數年後可以靈活提取的計劃中;而未來數年要動用這筆資金的逼切性相對不大,加上Monica平時亦有投資基金,按資產狀況、投資經驗、年齡等幾方面評估,其風險承受能力亦為中至高級別,所以她可考慮一些較進取的理財工具,透過平均成本法,減低一次過入市的風險。


    鳴謝資料提供: 林昶恆, 美國認可理財教練 (CMC)®
















    以上個案只作一般參考用途,並不構成及不應被視作取代保險顧問有關購買保單的專業意見。您不應只根據本網頁刊載的資料購買保單。 如就涉及本網站所提供的訊息或相關事宜採取行動,應先尋求相關的專業意見。如欲了解詳情,歡迎與您的宏利保險顧問聯絡,或致電 客戶服務熱線 (852) 2510 3383 (如閣下身處於香港)及 (853) 8398 0383 (如閣下身處於澳門)。


個案分析 - 小店老闆

開小店,掂唔掂?


Matt,30歲
準備與友人合資開設飲品小店

  • 閱讀更多

    台式飲品店的創業商機

    Matt早年在台灣讀大學,心想台式飲品在香港發展前景不俗,很希望在香港開辦類似的小店,所以大學畢業後努力工作及儲蓄,加上家人的幫助,儲了100萬港元,準備開店創業,預計總投資額約150萬港元,共有3位股東合作,他需要支付50萬。


    市面有很多外賣形式的台式飲品小店,Matt明白要有自家特色,才能令小店站穩陣腳。他因此考慮與朋友合資開店,除了提供標準飲品及小吃外,亦會提供場地讓客戶舉辦其他活動,包括上網和一些康樂活動,例如桌上遊戲和VR電玩。同時並會以優惠吸納客戶成為會員,期望藉此令生意穩定增長,以及與其他產品供應商聯盟,銷售他們的產品,增加其他收入來源。

    經營實體店的困難

    一間實體店,租金和人手必然是最大的開支,所以他必須計算好營運成本。他亦要設定一個時間表,例如約兩年,期間如果小店能夠成功,Matt便繼續經營,否則便可能要改變方向,甚至重新投入職場。


    香港創業成功率不高,所以Matt一定要有兩手準備,假若兩年後生意未上軌道,便要考慮從新工作。首先,按個人經濟能力,他需要預備一筆等同平常6個月支出的應急錢,另外Matt的父母還有5年便退休,預算退休後需要他提供生活費補助每月5千元,所以他可考慮購買一份人壽保單計劃,為家人提供保障。


    由於他目前只專注創業而未有認真考慮退休,所以他選擇了一份有儲蓄成份的人壽保單。假如將來生意穩定下來,能提供收入,Matt可從入息中提取生活費給父母,然後讓這份人壽保單可能有派發的紅利滾存,作為自己未來退休時的部份生活費。Matt亦有考慮醫療保障的需要,購買一份合適的個人醫療保險,令自己和家人更安心,從而更專注在創業路上。


    鳴謝資料提供: 林昶恆, 美國認可理財教練 (CMC)®
















    以上個案只作一般參考用途,並不構成及不應被視作取代保險顧問有關購買保單的專業意見。您不應只根據本網頁刊載的資料購買保單。 如就涉及本網站所提供的訊息或相關事宜採取行動,應先尋求相關的專業意見。如欲了解詳情,歡迎與您的宏利保險顧問聯絡,或致電 客戶服務熱線 (852) 2510 3383 (如閣下身處於香港)及 (853) 8398 0383 (如閣下身處於澳門)。


個案分析 - KOL

KOL拍吓片就得?


Moses,YouTuber,34歲
已婚,太太為yoga導師,太太月入約2萬多港元

  • 閱讀更多

    將興趣轉化為職業

    大學時修讀電子工程,全職打工8年後辭職創業及拍YouTube片。一年半前起步,他現時經營一個頻道,主打日常vlog(video + blog的簡稱),真人談旅遊、攝影、新電子產品及音樂,大概有15萬人訂閱。他認為廣東話客群太小,所以打算開拓內地和台灣市場,目前有兩位同事專門負責業務拓展工作。現時自己每天花10多小時於YouTube上,幸好是興趣所在,即使超時工作亦不會覺得很疲累。


    Moses用了年半時間,發展YouTuber事業,已有15萬人訂閱,算是不錯的成績。但很多成功的媒體KOL,訂閱用戶隨時以過百萬、甚至千萬計,有YouTuber指上百萬點擊才能夠為YouTuber帶來約港幣7,000元至10,000元的收入如果沒有很強烈的興趣作推動力,從收入角度看,實在難以堅持下去。雖然太太亦有工作,但收入似乎未足夠應付未來的所有計劃,幸好Moses的父母為他買了樓,兩口子毋須擔心居住問題,但基本生活費和未來的人生規劃亦很重要。

    該如何規劃YouTuber之路?

    Moses明白要達成任何目標,都需要時間和紀律,YouTuber工作仍在起步階段,他每天需花10多個小時經營,很容易會忽略其他重要的人生目標。他了解到現實與理想會存在偏差,他需要創造其他入息。既然已掌握了旅遊、攝影和音樂等不同知識和潮流趨勢,他考慮運用個人眼界,開設網上工作坊以增加入息,希望在滿足個人興趣之餘,亦可開拓收入來源。


    現在YouTuber工作尚未發展成熟,Moses知道要及早為未來作好規劃,考慮到暫時不急需大量資金,亦沒有生兒育女的計劃,所以決定由長線儲蓄計劃開始,為未來享受人生作安排。他初步以50歲為第一個儲蓄目標期,期望到時能夠累積到一筆退休金。因工作時間很長,他亦開始注重身體健康,所以需要安排醫療,危疾保障儲蓄人壽保險,當夫婦倆其中一個患病,另一方在金錢上亦可以應付得來。應急流動現金亦是必需的,可按需要及經濟能力,預留等同大概6個月日常支出的金額。創業者除了要樂觀面對未來,亦要做好風險管理,心安自然更放心向目標進發。


    鳴謝資料提供: 林昶恆, 美國認可理財教練 (CMC)®
















    以上個案只作一般參考用途,並不構成及不應被視作取代保險顧問有關購買保單的專業意見。您不應只根據本網頁刊載的資料購買保單。 如就涉及本網站所提供的訊息或相關事宜採取行動,應先尋求相關的專業意見。如欲了解詳情,歡迎與您的宏利保險顧問聯絡,或致電 客戶服務熱線 (852) 2510 3383 (如閣下身處於香港)及 (853) 8398 0383 (如閣下身處於澳門)。


人壽保障金額計算機

人生無常,需要幾多保障?


立即計計

儲蓄目標計算機

要達到儲蓄目標,需要多久?每月需儲多少?


立即計計

「宏利理財規劃」三大範疇

從三大支柱入手,全方位鞏固未來,自然可放心投資於現在。

累積財富

長線規劃,為財富增值

保障財富

以策萬全,應付人生無常

策劃退休入息

走多一步,維持理想的生活質素

及早問專家

想了解更多規劃方案?立即提供以下資料,我們的理財顧問會儘快與您聯絡。

本人已閱畢及接受 私隠政策 使用條款 細則,包括提供的個人資料之使用。

謝謝您與我們聯絡!我們的理財顧問會儘快回覆。

想了解更多理財規劃方案,及早問專家!