Lisa Cheng, Champion Climber

Can you really raise a child?

Learn more about her financial planning strategy.


Other Videos

play-button
Lisa Cheng, Champion Climber

Can you really raise a child?

Learn more about her financial planning strategy.

Case Studies

The stories of the family-starter reveal ordinary people’s not-so-ordinary financial planning insights.

Planning for the wedding

Get the Budget Right for Wedding and More?


Planning for the wedding
Marko: 30 years old (private tutor, monthly income: around HK$34,000)
Martha: 27 years old (administrative clerk, monthly income: around HK$28,000)
The couple is engaged and has to deal with the huge wedding expenses. They currently live in a rented apartment but aspire to buy their own. They also plan to retire at 60.

  • Read the story

    Prepare for the Wedding and the Life Ahead

    After years of dating, Marko and Martha plan to get married. Although there is more than a year to go, they have still had many decisions to make, such as the banquet, venue and booking of a lawyer (Civil Celebrant of Marriages). Marko also wants to offer his bride the most unforgettable wedding ever with a pre-wedding photoshoot in Iceland and banquet held at a 5-star hotel.


    They now live together in a rented apartment in Kowloon close to their workplaces, and would like to buy their first home after getting married. Meanwhile, Marko wants to retire with Martha at the age of 60, which will be 30 years later.

    A Wedding and a New Home at the Same Time?

    While the two are eager to plan for their future together, they still feel a bit confused.


    In fact, with the limited savings, they should set their priorities and budgets. They should set aside a budget for the photoshoot, which will cost HKD$400,000, and the banquet, which will cost HKD500,000 for 15 tables. They will need about HKD$900,000.


    With their current savings and the net surplus in the coming four months, they should be able to cover these expenses. However, they will have to use all of their savings for the down payment of a new home, and repay the mortgage loan monthly. In this case, they may have to change their plan and choose to tie the knot overseas and pick a more affordable photoshoot package. After careful consideration, they have decided to stay at the present apartment for now as the place is comfortable and the rent is reasonable.


    But as all savings will be spent on the wedding, they must make good use of their monthly surplus from now on so as to accumulate wealth for retirement.


    Meanwhile, both Marko and Martha will need medical plans that will protect their savings against any unexpected medical expenses, as well as life protection with each other as the beneficiary.


    For retirement, they may consider tools with higher long-term return and relatively higher risk, such as equity-based products. As their equity and MPF portfolios primarily consist of risk assets, they may reduce the risk through diversification and allocate some capital to more conservative savings insurance plans. They should also review their financial plans regularly to ensure that they are on track towards their goals.


    Special thanks to the case study provider: Alvin Lam, Certified Money Coach (CMC)®
















    The information above is for general reference only. It shall not constitute nor shall it be taken as a substitute for the professional advice from an insurance advisor on the purchase of insurance policies. No aspect of this website shall be solely relied upon for the decision of insurance purchase. You should seek relevant professional advice before taking action on any matters to which information provided on this website may be relevant. For more details, please contact your Manulife insurance advisor or call our customer service hotline on (852) 2510 3383 (if you are in Hong Kong) or (853) 8398 0383 (if you are in Macau).


Growing family

Plan for Your Kid’s Future?


Growing family
Michael: 35 years old (programmer, monthly income: around HK$46,000)
Michelle: 35 years old (full-time housewife after their son was born)
The couple live in a private apartment measuring about 400 sq ft, with a monthly mortgage repayment of HK$15,000. They have to take care of their son and dependent parents, and would like their son to receive higher education.

  • Read the story

    Planning a better future for their child

    Michael and Michelle are happy parents of their 2-year-old son. As the breadwinner of the family, Michael has some concerns about the future. His primary concern is that their home may not have enough space for his kid, and they may need a bigger home.


    All parents want their children to be smart and outstanding, and the couple is no exception. While Michelle is searching for a good kindergarten to ensure the academic success of their boy, Michael is thinking about the future, and would like his son to study in a renowned university overseas to broaden his horizons one day. On top of these plans and expectations, they also want a secure retirement plan.


    It is important to set a timeline for goals at different life stages. As they may need a bigger house when their son is in secondary school, the timeline of home purchase should be set at 10 years later. The current mortgage loan would be fully repaid by then and they may choose to sell the flat to fund the down payment of a larger apartment.

    Planning for school vs. business

    Realizing that it will be financially challenging for them to let their son attend those elite schools, which will mean years of heavy burden, Michael and Michelle want to focus on moral education first and set aside a university education fund what may allow the kid to start his own business.


    It is expected that they will need the money 16 years later when their son starts university, or another five years later if the fund is used for starting a business. They should therefore consider a plan with high withdrawal flexibility. The time of first withdrawal should be set at 16 years later. If the money is not withdrawn, they may leave it on deposit to earn interest under the plan.


    Apart from preparing for the needs of their child, Michael and Michelle should manage their risks carefully to ensure that their son will be taken care of if the father unfortunately passes away at an early age. Hence, Michael needs a comprehensive life insurance plan with a savings element. When their son becomes independent, the cash value of the plan will continue to accumulate and can be used as the retirement fund for him and Michelle. They may take out the plan now, and settle all contributions before retirement. Meanwhile, Michael may need a term life insurance plan to cover the shortfall between his current life plan with a savings element and the actual needs of his family.


    Although Michelle is a housewife with no income, she should have a basic life plan that can protect the family finance against any mishaps. The coverage can be set as the family’s annual expenditure.


    Besides, Michael has to evaluate if the current group medical protection (for the whole family) offered by his company is sufficient. As corporate plans usually lack critical illnesses protection, Michael may buy one for his family. The earlier he has the plan in place, the lower the premiums will be. Of course, they have to review the plan regularly to ensure that they enjoy the most comprehensive protection.


    Special thanks to the case study provider: Alvin Lam, Certified Money Coach (CMC)®
















    The information above is for general reference only. It shall not constitute nor shall it be taken as a substitute for the professional advice from an insurance advisor on the purchase of insurance policies. No aspect of this website shall be solely relied upon for the decision of insurance purchase. You should seek relevant professional advice before taking action on any matters to which information provided on this website may be relevant. For more details, please contact your Manulife insurance advisor or call our customer service hotline on (852) 2510 3383 (if you are in Hong Kong) or (853) 8398 0383 (if you are in Macau).


Life Protection Calculator

Life can be unpredictable. How much protection do you need?


Do the math now

Target Saving Calculator

How long will it take to reach your savings target? How much do you need to put aside each month?


Do the math now

Manulife Financial Planning – The 3 Pillars

Start with the 3 pillars of financial planning. Once you have taken care of the future, you will have the peace of mind to live in the moment.

Build Your Wealth

Long-term planning for growing your wealth.

Protect Your Wealth

Expect the unexpected. Have a comprehensive backup plan, just in case.

Enjoy Your Wealth

Take an extra step to maintain the quality of life you want after your retirement.

Talk to the Experts

Contact our professional financial advisors for a comprehensive and personalized financial planning solution.

I have read and accepted Manulife's Privacy Policy and Terms Of Use including the use of my personal information provided above.

Thank you for contacting us. We will get back to you soon.

Talk to the experts on financial planning!

包山后 - 郑丽莎

生孩子,真的可以吗?

她其实已经做好理财规划,你又知道吗?


其他短片

play-button
包山后 - 郑丽莎

生孩子,真的可以吗?

她其实已经做好理财规划,你又知道吗?

生活案例

家庭故事,剖析小人物的理财大智慧

个案分析 - 筹备结婚

除了婚礼,还有多少事情要考虑?


筹备结婚
Marko:30岁(补习教师月入约HK$34,000)
Martha:27岁(大企业行政文员月入约HK$28,000)
已求婚,将应付大笔婚礼开支,暂时住处是月租的,希望可以买房,以及于60岁退休。

  • 阅读更多

    筹备结婚一连串的人生计划

    Marko和Martha恋爱多年准备结婚,虽然筹备婚礼的时间还有一年多,但有很多问题需要早作决定,例如安排酒席、举办婚礼的场地和安排证婚律师等。为了让Martha有一个难忘的婚礼,Marko打算与Martha到冰岛拍摄婚纱照,然后在香港的五星级酒店举行婚宴。


    他们暂时以月租形式共同居住在九龙区,方便上班,但正考虑趁结婚买房,打造一个安乐窝。他们也开始规划退休,Marko期望60岁时可以与Martha一起退休,即是30年之后。

    结婚置业计划同时进行?

    他们都是会作长远打算的人,但面对漫长的人生规划,未免感到困惑。


    事实上,由于资金有限,他们应该设定主次目标和期望金额。首先应准备一笔流动资金,主要用作明年拍摄婚纱照和筹备婚宴。预算拍摄婚纱照需要40万港元,另外预计在酒店筵开15席,估计需要约50万港元,整笔开支共需要约90万元。


    以目前的银行存款来说,加上未来4个月的收入盈余,是足够应付这笔开支的;但如要置业便要将所有存款调动作为首期,还要每月供房,这样便可能要改变计划,选择旅行结婚并到较经济的地方拍摄婚纱照了。经详细考虑后,由于当前租住的地方很舒适,租金也算合理,他们决定暂时搁置短期置业的计划。


    当前的存款如用在婚礼上,已没有多余的流动现金,面对长远的退休需要,他们应从今天起善用每月的收入盈余,积累财富。


    Marko及Martha还需要足够的医疗保障,确保不会因医疗支出而影响将来的储蓄计划。同时,他们还打算购买一份以对方为受益人的人寿保险。


    至于退休安排,因有较长时间作规划,可考虑选择长线回报较佳而风险相对较高的工具,例如股票为主的理财产品。当前两人持有的股票及强积金属于进取类资产,假如想进一步通过分散投资降低风险,部分资金可以选择收益较平稳的储蓄保险计划。理财计划开始后必须定期审查,以达到期望中的目标。


    鸣谢资料提供:林昶恒,美国认可理财教练(CMC)®
















    以上个案只作一般参考用途,并不构成及不应被视作取代保险顾问有关购买保单的专业意见。您不应只根据本网页刊载的资料购买保单。如就涉及本网站所提供的讯息或相关事宜采取行动,应先寻求相关的专业意见。如欲了解详情,欢迎与您的宏利保险顾问联络,或致电客户服务热线 (852) 2510 3383 (如阁下身处于香港)及 (853) 8398 0383 (如阁下身处于澳门)。


个案分析 - 生儿育女

为下一代规划未来?


生儿育女
Michael:35岁 (电脑程序员月入约HK$46,000)
Michelle:35岁 (孩子出生后成为全职家庭主妇)
现住400多英尺的私房,每月供房约15,000元。要供养父母,育有一子,希望能供他读大学 。

  • 阅读更多

    为孩子未来担忧

    Michael和Michelle刚刚为儿子庆祝两岁生日,一家三口其乐融融,但Michael作为家庭经济唯一支柱,对未来生活总有一些忧虑,首先是当前居住单位不大,考虑到儿子将来成长过程中,活动空间可能不足,所以想过是否要「小屋搬大屋」。


    赢在起跑线是一般家长的想法,太太希望儿子能够升学一条龙,所以开始积极为儿子寻找幼儿园;而父亲希望儿子能够开阔眼界,将来能到海外名牌大学读书;夫妇俩对儿子有一大堆想法和期望,更别说两口子将来的退休安排。


    为了能达到不同阶段的目标,设定时间表是第一步,考虑到孩子上中学后可能需要换房,以方便上学和增加活动空间,房换房的时间便应设定为10年后。到时物业刚完成还款,可以决定是否要卖出物业,将所得用作首期,再买较大单位。

    计划孩子未来升学或创业

    他们经商量后,考虑到财政上难以供养儿子从幼儿园到大学一直入读名校,加上名校生涯等同父母要承受十多年的压力,所以夫妇俩决定先专注孩子的品格教育,将资金留作大学的升学基金,或可以作为孩子未来创业之用。


    他们可以假定最快16年后才开始运用这笔升学基金,到时孩子第一年入读大学;如果用于未来创业,有机会再延后5年。因此,他们应考虑一个有提取灵活性的计划,第一期提取资金的时间设定为16年后,如资金未被提取,也能够保存在计划内积存生息,直至提取前都能赚取利息。


    除了孩子的需要外,夫妇俩还做好风险管理,确保万一不幸早逝,都能够维持孩子未来的发展需要。Michael因此需要有足够的人寿保障,有了一份具储蓄成份的人寿保单,将来完成对孩子的责任后,保单内的现金价值也能够继续滚存,作为他和Michelle退休时的储备,从现在开始供款,预计到退休前完成供款。除此之外,Michael应同时计算家庭生活需要,现有的储蓄人寿可能不足以保障家人生活,建议投保定期人寿,以补足差额。


    虽然Michelle是家庭主妇,没有收入,但也应该有一份基本保障额的人寿保单,以防将来有任何事故而影响家庭支出,保障额可以设定为等同家庭一年的支出。


    Michael还要审查当前公司的团体医疗福利保障 (已包括全家人的保障)是否足够。一般公司福利都没有危疾保障,Michael可以考虑为自己、太太及儿子安排危疾保障,及早开始的其中一个好处,是锁定较便宜的保费额。当然,保障需要定期审查,才能确保全面及安心。


    鸣谢资料提供:林昶恒,美国认可理财教练(CMC)®
















    以上个案只作一般参考用途,并不构成及不应被视作取代保险顾问有关购买保单的专业意见。您不应只根据本网页刊载的资料购买保单。如就涉及本网站所提供的讯息或相关事宜采取行动,应先寻求相关的专业意见。如欲了解详情,欢迎与您的宏利保险顾问联络,或致电客户服务热线 (852) 2510 3383 (如阁下身处于香港)及 (853) 8398 0383 (如阁下身处于澳门)。


人寿保障金额计算器

人生无常,需要多少保障?


马上算算

储蓄目标计算器

要达到储蓄目标,需要多久?每月要存多少?


马上算算

「宏利理财规划」三大范畴

从三大支柱入手,全方位巩固未来,自然可放心投资现在。

累积财富

长线规划,为财富增值

保障财富

做好万全之策,应对人生无常

策划退休收入

多走一步,维持理想的生活品质

及早问专家

想了解更多理财规划方案?立即提供以下资料,我们的理财顾问会尽快与您联络。

本人已阅读毕及接受 私隐政策 使用条款 细则,包括提供的个人资料之使用。

谢谢您与我们联络。我们将会尽快回复。

想了解更多理财规划方案,及早问专家 !